Member Networks Annual Report Form Reporting events held in 2018 and those planned for 2019

In line with the rules for member networks and to enable us to better support our networks and their activities all member networks (Local Sections, Interest Groups and Analytical Division Regions) are asked to complete this form and return it to <u>networks@rsc.org</u> or by post to: Networks Team, Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF.

Deadlines

Deadline for receipt of Financial Accounts by RSC Finance Team: 8th February 2019 Deadline for receipt of Annual Report by Networks Team: 25th February 2019

If there is any reason that your committee will not be able to meet either or both of these deadlines please inform <u>networks@rsc.org</u> as soon as possible.

This report will be uploaded to your web page to share with the members of your network. Staff will also share a digest of all member networks activities taken solely from these annual reports with appropriate staff and governance boards and committees including Division Councils with similar interests.

Committee	Solid State Chemistry Group
Completed by	Professor David Scanlon
Date	Sunday, 27 January 2019

Please list below the dates of all of your planned committee meetings and, if held, AGM.

Annual General Meeting (if being held)

Date	Monday, 16 December 2019	
Venue	University of Liverpool	

Proposed Committee Meetings Dates

Date	Venue	
16/12/2019	University of Liverpool	

Awards and Bursaries

Please list any awards or bursaries presented by your committee in the past 12 months and indicate any that will be open for nomination/application in the next calendar year.

Please also include information about the application/nomination and selection processes.

Please ensure that all members of your network are notified of any awards or bursaries for general application. These notifications can be sent via e-alert through <u>networks@rsc.org</u>.

Award	SSCG Travel Bursaries – maximum of £250	
Award Type	Bursary	
Audience	Postgraduates & PhD students	
Nomination/ application deadline	We have 2 calls, closing on the 31 st March and 31 st July	
Number of nominations/ applications	6	
1. Abby Haworth - Supervisor Karen E Johnston (Du		

 Abby Haworth - Supervisor Karen E Johnston (Durham) -59th Rocky Mountain Conference (RMC) on Magnetic

Award winner(s) and institution(s)

	word report on the conference attended for the Solid State Chemistry Group newsletter.

Award

Other forms of Recognition provided by your committee:

<u>Committee</u>

This information will be used to update our membership database and your web page. Please ensure that any changes to the committee are sent to <u>networks@rsc.org</u> as soon as possible.

Position	Name	Dates on committee (20xx – 20xx)
Chair Professor Jan Skakle (Aberdeen)		2018 – 2021
Secretary	ecretary Professor David O. Scanlon (UCL)	
Treasurer	Dr Robert Jackson (Keele)	2016 – 2020
Ordinary Members	Dr Alexey Ganin (Glasgow) Dr Geoff Hyett (Southampton) Dr Matthew Dyer (Liverpool) Dr Robert Palgrave (UCL) Dr Siân Dutton (Cambridge) Dr Benjamin Morgan (Bath)	2017 - 2020 2018 - 2021 2018 - 2021 2017 - 2020 2017 - 2020 2017 - 2020
Industry Member	Dr Jack Corps (Johnson Matthey)	2017 – 2020
Fixed Term Contract Member	Dr Anna Regoutz (Imperial)	2019 – 2022
Student Member	Kirstie McCombie (Aberdeen)	2017 – 2020

Diversity & Inclusion

Our trustees are aiming to embed diversity and inclusion in all of our activities and networks. Section 8 of our <u>online network handbook</u> contains more information to support our networks in achieving this and our Diversity team have <u>online Guides for Networks</u> that include actions and considerations for committees, and guides for inclusive communications and running inclusive events.

Please comment on how your group is showing that it has embraced Diversity and Inclusion within its practices. If you have diversity data from your events or acormat